Skip to content

Eight Wiccan Sabbats

The Sabbats

SamhainOct. 31Halloween, All Hallow’s Eve, Samana, Strega
Samhain is a time of remembrance of those who have passed into the next life.
It is a time when the veil that separates the seen from the unseen is at it’s thinnest.
During Samhain it is very easy to communicate with those “other” realms.
Divination comes easy at this time of year.
YuleApprox. Dec. 21Winter Solstice
Yule is the celebration of the rebirth of the God who died at Lammas.
Yule is a dark time. During this time of the year we await the return of light.
ImbolcFeb. 1 or 2Imbolg, Candlemas, Oimbolc, Brigantia, Imbolic
Imbolc is a happy time. It is the return of light to world as we leave the dark
winter. It is also a time to honour the goddess Brigid
(pronounced breed)
OstaraApprox. Mar. 20Spring Equinox
Ostara marks the first true day of spring. The Goddess blankets the Earth with fertility,
bursting forth from her sleep, as the God stretches and grows to maturity. He walks
the greening fields and delights in the abundance of Nature.
BeltaneMay. 1May Day, May Eve
Beltane is celebrating the union of the Goddess and God, and thus is also a
fertility festival. Also celebrates the returning sun (or Sun God).
LithaApprox. June. 20Summer Solstice, Midsummer
Litha is when the time for play starts to wane and the time for study starts to wax.
At this time of year the Goddess enters her mother aspect.
LughnasadhAug 1Lammas, Lughnasa
Lugnasadh Is a time of mourning because of the passing of the God.
It is a time of remembrance of all that the God has given you that year,
and it is the time of the first harvest.
MabonApprox. Sept. 22Fall Equinox, Autumn Equinox
Mabon is the time of the final harvest of crops. It is a time of rest and a time
of balance, because day and night are of equal length.